8 Types of Hindu Marriage in the Laws of Manu

http://en.nhipcautamgiao.net/ đăng lúc 4/14/2021 9:02:07 AM

The Laws of Manu (Manusmriti) is considered to be one of the standard religious texts for Hindus. Also called the Manava Dharma Shastra, it is regarded as a supplemental text to the Vedas and is an authoritative source of guidance for the norms of domestic and religious living for ancient Hindus. It crucial to understanding how ancient Indian life was structured and still has a considerable impact on many modern Hindus.

The Laws of Manu outline eight types of marriage that existed in ancient Hindu life. The first four forms of marriage were known as Prashasta forms. All four were regarded as approved forms, although the approval existed in different degrees, with Brahmana clearly superior to the other three. The last four forms of marriage were known as Aprashasta forms, and all were regarded as undesirable, for reasons that will become clear.

Prashasta Forms of Marriage

Aprashast Forms of Marriage

By Subhamoy Das
Source: learnreligions.com/

Đọc đầy đủ chi tiết bài viết tại http://en.nhipcautamgiao.net/culture/custom/8-types-of-hindu-marriage-in-the-laws-of-manu/