The Holy Trinity in Hinduism

[ point evaluation5/5 ]1 people who voted
Đã xem: 719 | Cật nhập lần cuối: 2/6/2016 10:31:10 AM | RSS | Bản để in | Bản gửi email

We believe the world is about to end, like we did a decade ago, and the decade before that and the several infinite decades before that. Just in case the proclamation does turn true this time, I would like us to at least be aware of the relevance that my thology offers. Hence, this is an article devoted to Hindu mythology’s Holy Trinity – Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva. In Hinduism, God is the omnipresent and the omnipotent that creates, protects and destroys the world and the beings. We worship the Creation function of God as Brahma, the Protective/sustenance function as Vishnu and the Destructive function as Shiva.


Brahma is the seed and the creator of all beings in the world. He is called Svayambhu because none created him, he created himself. That is to say, Brahmaan

The Holy Trinity in Hinduism

became Brahma, just the way He became Vishnu and Shiva. Even though he is closest to Brahmaan, he is not a popular god. It is said the reason for this is that his worship demands extreme concentration and dedication as token of devotion. Brahma is also a great spiritual teacher; he is the lord of scholarship. The four Vedas are said to have come from his mouth. From Brahma’s body came the four castes of the Hindus. The Brahmans or priests came from his mouth; the Kshatriyas or soldiers from his arms; the Vaishyas or traders from his thigh and the Sudras or menial workers from his feet. Today the most important temple of Brahma stands in Pushkar, Rajasthan.

Lord Vishnu is the Preserver and Sustainer of life with his principles of order, righteousness and truth and whenever these values are under threat, he emerges to restore peace and order on earth. Vishnu’s consort is Laxmi, the goddess of wealth. Maya is the primary intelligence of Vishnu and it is his Power. Vishnu’s earthly incarnations have many avatars and he is known by thousands of names. His ten avatars are Matsyavatara (fish), Koorma (tortoise), Varaaha (boar), Narasimha (the man lion), Vaamana (the dwarf), Parasurama (the angry man), Lord Rama (the perfect human of the Ramayana), Lord Krishna (the divine diplomat and statesman), and the yet to appear 10th incarnation called the Kalki avatar. Vishnu is often depicted as reclining on a Sheshanaga – the coiled, many-headed snake floating on cosmic waters that represents the peaceful Universe. This pose of Vishnu symbolizes the calm and patience he possesses in the face of fear and worries that the poisonous snake represents.


Office for Interreligious and Ecumenical Relations - Catholic Bishops' Conference of Vietnam

Add: 72/12 Tran Quoc Toan St., Ward 8, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City

Tel: +84 (08) 3911.8863; +84 (08) 3820.1829 - Email:;

Copyright © 2015 The Office for Interreligious and Ecumenical Relations - CBCV

Thiet ke web